Pardon the Interuption and Some Thoughts on Being a Hero

This week our little family of 3 grew to 4 with the birth of our baby girl.

Leading up to her arrival we were filled with anticipation about what it was going to be like with 2 children and how much our lives were going to change.

Now that she is here there is something else I have been thinking about.

Michael Jordan once said that his parents were and are his hero’s in his life and he couldn’t imagine it being anyone else.

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/m/michaeljor158589.html

This got me thinking about what kind of example I want to show my children so they could hopefully one day describe me as their hero.

In short, what kind of person do I want to be?  Do I want to be a kind person? Smart?  Funny? Do I want to show my children how to be patient?  How to be a good wife?  Do I want them to know independence?  Do I want to show appreciation for the blessings in my life?

The point here is not for me to share with you what kind of person I want to be.  The point is for each of you take time to think about who you want to be and how you want others to perceive you in the world.  Then write them down so you can refer back to them when you fee like you have lost your way.

In the upcoming posts I will be sharing with you my tools for capturing your thoughts on what kind of person you want to be.  In addition, we will review what kind of person you DON’T want to be, which can be a challenging exercise.

I hope that you are enjoying reading about my perspective on some of these things and please feel free to reach out to me with any feedback or stories of how these posted have inspired/motivated or simply spoken to you.

Thanks,

IMG_1499

Leave a comment